Results 1 to 20 of 140

Thread: Week 4 Other Games

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Quote Originally Posted by HarveyWallbangers View Post
    Same play was called tonight on the LOS. The only problem was it was not egregious. In fact, I don't think the Texans blocker even hit the Colts rushed below the waist. He hit him above the hip. Kind of weird because the more I read about this, I'm not sure if it's supposed to be a penalty. Well, it should be illegal, but I"m not sure if it is. The Texans tonight was not nearly as bad as this block.

    I did find video. I wish ESPN would have pointed it out. Maybe there'd be more buzz to make these blocks illegal.

    This Ugly Block From The Seahawks Resulted In A Gruesome Broken Leg
    Yeah, I saw the block that got called tonight. It might be illegal, but the explanation from Dumb and Dumber wasn't right.
    Bud Adams told me the franchise he admired the most was the Kansas City Chiefs. Then he asked for more hookers and blow.

  2. #2
    From that link:

    Again, to reiterate, this type of chop block is legal. On a running play, an offensive lineman can engage a player below the waist provided he is not more than one position away from the initial block. In layman’s terms, the right guard can chop the nose tackle engaged with the center. The right tackle cannot.
    So the Colts-Texans call was because it was a pass. The Seahawks non-call was because even if you judged it to be a chop block (two guys engaged on one defender, one high and one low), its legal if its a run play and they are adjacent.
    Bud Adams told me the franchise he admired the most was the Kansas City Chiefs. Then he asked for more hookers and blow.

  3. #3
    Stout Rat HOFer Guiness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Canada, eh?
    Posts
    13,533
    Quote Originally Posted by pbmax View Post
    From that link:



    So the Colts-Texans call was because it was a pass. The Seahawks non-call was because even if you judged it to be a chop block (two guys engaged on one defender, one high and one low), its legal if its a run play and they are adjacent.
    ???

    I always thought you couldn't hit low if he was already engaged. Never seen this convoluted verbiage before.
    --
    Imagine for a moment a world without hypothetical situations...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •