PDA

View Full Version : Sports Camps

GrnBay007
05-13-2008, 09:49 PM
Think they are worth the money?

Holy cow they've gone up in price from a "few" years ago when I used to attend. :wink:

$385.00 for a 4 day Volleyball camp for my daughter.

Deputy Nutz
05-13-2008, 09:52 PM
It does keep them thinking about the sport year round. As a coach I promote as many wrestling camps to my athletes as I can. The more involved they are the better, the summer can be one huge distraction.

red
05-13-2008, 10:14 PM
i went to that jordan guys basketball camp when i was in high school

now that experience was priceless

also, is it local, or do they actually go away for that time. that was big for me, it was like my first time away on my own

if its local, and if its the coaches camp, then yes, you have to go. its like "volunteer" minicamps........that you get to pay for. you lose brownie points with the coach if you don't go

GrnBay007
05-13-2008, 10:29 PM
It's about a 45 min. drive. The $385 includes spending the night in the dorms and all meals. The camp is actually 9am-9pm. Actually not that bad of a price considering that. It's a NIKE camp.....free t-shirt....woohoo!

Well, all signed up. She promises to get in really good shape before the camp so she gets the most out of it. lol

I know what you mean about those voluntary deals that the coaches monitor.....to see who cares enough to show up. They are having open gym all summer on certain days to train and you know they keep track of who's showing up. They just can't officially call it practice or make the kids go before a certain date.

twoseven
05-14-2008, 05:12 AM
four days of all day instruction.. plus lodgings and meals (and that free advertising.. i mean t-shirt) for $385, $96 a day, seems pretty fair for a Nike camp.

Partial
05-14-2008, 06:36 AM
Seems very expensive but what isn't? Tennis camp was typically about 30 dollars a day for 3 hours.

Deputy Nutz
05-14-2008, 09:52 AM