PDA

View Full Version : How often do you insurance shop?

GrnBay007
02-02-2009, 08:16 PM
Is it important to do this often?

I work with a guy that calls around for estimates every year.

My homeowners insurance just went up with no explanation.

Bretsky
02-02-2009, 09:54 PM
Is it important to do this often?

I work with a guy that calls around for estimates every year.

My homeowners insurance just went up with no explanation.

I do business with people that do business with me; to me that is more important than saving $5 a month. It's mutually beneficial due to what I do for a living and what they do.

Now if you don't benefit with a connection like this, I'd check around every other year.

Some agencies do credit based insurance pricing now.

This means, if you have outstanding credit, your bill will be a lot cheaper because their studies have shown, apparently, that good credit people do not make claims. Bad credit would equal high insurance.

I don't think too highly of these national agencies...won't mention any names but my experience has been some of the hugh companies advertising on TV are grossly overpriced.

packinpatland
02-02-2009, 09:56 PM
Funny you mention it. Ours went up, we called........they said they'd give us a deal if we bundled our auto ins. with them. We've had the same home owners for 27 years.........not one claim.
We're going to shop......and then switch, just on principle.

digitaldean
02-02-2009, 09:59 PM
I do comparison shop somewhat, but I usually get annual renewable term.

I look at insurance as a safety net to provide for my family in case I die during my working years. When I'm retired, large life insurance policies aren't necessary.

Not crazy about the stupid physicals and the idiotic questions, but that's all part of the game.

bobblehead
02-02-2009, 10:08 PM