View Full Version : Have any Rats had to deal with downsizing or layoffs yet?

GrnBay007
02-17-2009, 09:40 PM
With constantly reading about layoffs, wonder how we are all doing.

Little Whiskey
02-17-2009, 09:43 PM
My company deals with the auto industry and their suppliers. We have felt a bit of a pinch. As i am in sales we are the last to be "let go". but there has been some downsizing on the inside and support positions.

Bretsky
02-17-2009, 09:51 PM
No, I have not; my job may be more secure then it has been in a long time

Unfortunately it seems like I am speaking with people who are laid off on a weekly basis though.

Just a slight tip for all; if you think you are in danger of being laid off........and you want to refinance to lower your montly payment......don't wait til you have no job to call your banker.

Cheers,
B

digitaldean
02-17-2009, 10:01 PM
I work in the electronic prepress industry. (take designs for packaging from either our designers or ad agencies and modify/manipulate them to print correctly on polybags, corrugated boxes or other paperboard products).

There has been a ton of shutdowns and layoffs in the print industry. My company had 2 divisions in the same city once we were bought out, so eventually we had cutbacks or consolidations. (or people who left before the corp. ax fell)

As of right now, we're OK. I can't focus on the negative or I'll go batty. I am thankful that I have my freelance gig. It helps cover our family budget. As a company, we haven't had pay raises in several years. Not thrilled with it, but thankful I've got a job nonetheless.

Kiwon
02-17-2009, 10:30 PM
Well, I hope the best for any PRer dealing with a job loss or threatened job loss.

I'm afraid we are going to be in this cycle for the next couple of years.

Hang in there and save as much money as you can right now.

Zool
02-17-2009, 10:49 PM