PDA

View Full Version : Strategy for GB vs MN

CaptainKickass
09-28-2009, 05:29 PM
I'm no expert, hell, I ain't even a coach, but it's fun to pretend you're the coach - and some of you posters here are the best at "hindsight coaching" so let's put it to the test.

What strategy would you have the Pack employ for the MN showdown? Let's please be a bit more descriptive/creative than the 'ol "gotta stop the run" and "get the running game going".

Offense:

Running:
With the supposed athleticism of our young offensive line, and the rumor that they're better at run blocking than pass blocking, how about we run an old fashioned sweep? It can't really be worse than what we've seen from the run game so far.

Passing:
Bootleg rollouts with greater frequency. The ones where the fullback rolls with the QB. I feel like this would work well with the aforementioned sweep.

***Special offensive consideration***

We could also say fuck it, and take a page from Belicheat a few years ago. Show up and throw down the classic 5 wide/spread offense. No way MN can cover our starting 5 receivers. Screw the run totally, until we get enough scores to where we just try to eat up clock.

Defense:

Leaving this up to Dom's discretion of course, but:
Gotta keep 2 safety's deep all game - both for passing as well as stopping the long run.

The D line should be fresher with a steady rotation of Jenkins, Pickett, Jolly and Raji.

What say all of you?

PlantPage55
09-28-2009, 05:35 PM
On offense:

1. I would start the game out with a flea-flicker right away.

2. Lots of tosses in the run game. We've had success with Ryan Grant against the Vikings D in the past by taking the run away from their beefy line from the start. Their LBs are good, but let's make them work to prove it, because running into that DLine too often would make it too easy for them.

3. This is where we unleash Finley. Throw out of the 2 TE set with frequency.

On defense: