PDA

View Full Version : Punting strategy -- kick out of bounds

Willard
08-07-2006, 01:24 PM
I have no experience in coaching or game day strategy--but as an "outside the box" thinker in other aspects of life I want to propose a strategy for the Packers this year. Please feel free to agree, refine, rip it to shreds, call me names - as you see fit:

The Packers should perfect the art of punting the ball out of bounds to eliminate returns.

Argument: Ryan has a hell of a leg, and consistently gets great distance (see CFL stats), but he struggles with hangtime. He outkicks the Packers' coverage team which sets up potentially big returns. Why not cater to his strength (distance) and minimize his weakness (hangtime) by intentionally aiming for the sideline? Poor hangtime is only an issue if there is a return. If the ball is kicked out of bounds then hangtime is a moot point. This strategy would surely sacrifice his Gross Average, but his Net Average would equal his Gross Average if there were no returns. Last year in the NFL the best Gross Average was 45.7 yards, but the best Net Average was only 39.3 yards.

Why couldn't this work?
Has anybody ever tried this?

CaptainKickass
08-07-2006, 01:28 PM
I employ this strategy all the time when playing Madden and it seems to work well for the "bend but don't break" D.

That does not mean that it will work in the Actual NFL but as of right now, I can see no argument against that as a strategy.

It'll be interesting to see what others have to say.

K-town
08-07-2006, 01:45 PM
I think you'd have to be very accurate with kick placement.By mis-judging the angle of the kick, you could easily lose 10-15 yards of field position. Also, this method of punting relies solely on the discretion of the official as to where the ball crossed the imaginary out-of-bounds barrier. And I would like to leave as little as possible to their judgement. We haven't gotten a lot of "home-cookin'" lately.

Bossman641
08-07-2006, 02:31 PM