PDA

View Full Version : COACHING AND KIDS AND WINNING AND SPORTSMANSHIP

Bretsky
01-29-2011, 06:38 PM
I use to be a high school teacher and coach; teaching just was not for me.

I still love coaching
but
I absolutely hate losing

So I'm an assistant coach for my daughter's fourth grade basketball team. In the eight team league, there is one team better than the rest. Then there are two teams competing for the second best (us and the team we played today) and the rest I think are closet but not quite as good as us.

So today, we played the team we are competing with to get to 2nd place. We have two players who are heads and heals above the next seven players on our team. I looked at the opposing teams stats and knew who their two scorers were. I suggested to our head coach we match our two best players up with their two scorers so we get a nice start.

He let me know he was not starting our best player because he rotates starters. We got off to a horseshit start, we were down by 5 at halftime, and lost the game by one bloody point. To quote Newmann from the Jerry Seinfeldt show, it would be fair to say that as a coach I absolutely LOATHE losing. This defeat will probably put me in a bad mood for several days. The kids who care about basketball were severaly bummed after the loss as well.

My wife asked me why our best player did not start and I explained to her what occured and it led to an interesing discussion. Our team always rotates players in and out so they all get minutes. But I'm struggling with the charity rotation in the starting lineup.