PDA

View Full Version : Baking Bread - a little help.

Patler
02-13-2011, 12:39 PM
I've made bread dough for years, making specialty breads from a few basic dough recipes.

But, I always hated making the dough itself, and for various reasons now find it hard to knead dough like I did. So....I bought a Cuisinart stand mixer with dough hooks. Problem solved, right?

Hardly. My dough turns out like crap. About one in 5 batches is good, the rest lousy.

Any tricks to mixing bread dough in stand mixer?

pbmax
02-13-2011, 01:06 PM
I have no knowledge of baking bread, but I wanted to test a theory out about questions like this so I googled "kneading dough in mixer" and ran into this link:

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/483188

You may have already done the same/similar.

My theory is that all the promises of home appliances inevitably cause a household to change the way they do things in order to realize the benefit of the appliance. My family thinks I do far too much thinking about purchases like this and want too many questions answered before committing to a purchase. But my experience is that not only will I spend the money on the appliance, but I will inevitably not be able to do what I initially intended to do, will need to do it entirely differently or change the original goal. Drives me crazy.

So theory partially confirmed with a superficial glance at the posts on that thread. Need the correct recipe and bread dough (not all work in a stand mixer), need mixer specific instructions and not all cookbooks will distinguish between the two methods for you. You also apparently need to learn what "autolyse" is (rest period after rough mix of ingredients to let flour absorb liquid).

Good luck Patler!

Patler
02-13-2011, 01:19 PM
Thanks, pbmax, I think! :lol:

Sounds like I need to start using different bread recipes/instructions until I find one that works, and then go from there. That is a bit frustrating, knowing the sayings about old dogs and all!

MadtownPacker