PDA

View Full Version : College Money

Partial
08-17-2006, 10:11 PM
Did you pay for college yourself? If so, how did you manage the debt and get out of it?

Scott Campbell
08-17-2006, 10:28 PM
I had some help, but paid for most of it. I always held a job, and had about $10K in debt when I got done.

HarveyWallbangers
08-17-2006, 11:10 PM
Student loan. Just made my last payment two months ago. I've been paying it off ($200+/month) since 1994.

Partial
08-17-2006, 11:19 PM
What sort of loans did you guys get?

the_idle_threat
08-17-2006, 11:19 PM
Student loans. Still paying and will be doing so for a while. Parents helped out a little, but they kept careful track of the expenditure, and I paid them back.

the_idle_threat
08-17-2006, 11:32 PM

I think all of mine were/are Stafford Loans. Federal money which you get from filling out the FAFSA.

HarveyWallbangers
08-17-2006, 11:34 PM

It's been so long I barely remember. I think they were Stafford Loans to begin with.

PaCkFan_n_MD
08-18-2006, 12:29 AM
I work and go to school, so I pay for a lot of my tuition. My parnets do help though when I need it. Also, I do get some governemet aid because I come from a one income house hold and that income isn't that big lol.

GrnBay007
08-18-2006, 12:53 AM
I worked during my college years and also took out a loan.......luckily it was not a huge loan....paid off in about 5 yrs. I fell into a golden opportunity due to where I lived at the time. First two years I registered through a Jr. college that had a contract set up with a neighboring State to offer classes there. First two years took classes at one of two private colleges where I was paying a fraction of the price per class that my fellow classmates were paying. Last two years transferred out of state to finish my degree. I had great times in college but I was more concerned about getting that degree without having huge debt hanging over my head.

MJZiggy
08-18-2006, 06:57 AM