PDA

View Full Version : HOLY SH"T , 2 holes in one in the same round

red
08-26-2006, 10:11 AM
now i've been playing golf for about 23 or 24 years, and i've never gotten a hole in one. this guy got two in the same round at a pga tour event

Miyazato aces 2 holes in same round

By SCOTT SONNER, Associated Press Writer Fri Aug 25, 7:08 PM ET

RENO, Nev. - Japan's Yusaku Miyazato became the first golfer to make two holes-in-one in the same round of a PGA Tour tournament when he aced a pair of par 3s Friday at the Reno-Tahoe Open.

Miyazato accomplished the feat on the 230-yard, downhill seventh hole and then the 173-yard, uphill No. 12 at the Montreux Golf and Country Club.

Bob Tway had two aces in the same tournament at the Memorial in 1994 and Glen Day did the same at the Greater Hartford Open the same year, but PGA Tour officials said they could find no record of any golfer on tour who pulled it off the same day.

Miyazato, 26, who lives in Tokyo, speaks only a little English so his caddie served as a translator for reporters after the round. But he knew how to answer directly when asked how he planned to celebrate Friday night.

"Drink much beer. Big party," he said with a wide smile.

Miyazato has played four years on the Japanese Tour, earning less than $1 million in that time, he said through his caddie.

He had one previous hole-in-one and was "very excited" when he holed out the first one on Friday with a 4-iron.

"But the second time, it was really unbelievable. I couldn't believe it," Miyazato said through his caddie. He hit a 7-iron for that one.

Because of the undulating nature of the greens, he didn't see either drop in the cup. The crowd let him know the first was an ace.

On No. 12, the gallery was sparse so he was expecting it had hit the pin but bounced away.

"When I went to the green, I was surprised," he said.