PDA

View Full Version : On the latest Ask Vic: First comes the want to hit, then comes technique

woodbuck27
12-06-2013, 11:06 PM
http://www.packers.com/news-and-events/ask-vic/article-1/First-comes-the-want-to-hit-then-comes-technique/05b36f20-d186-489b-bde8-695095770ddd

First comes the want to hit, then comes technique

Sean from Grand Prairie, TX

" The Packers were No. 4 against the run not too long ago, and now they’re at the bottom of the rankings. I work in IT and one of the first rules you learn is that if something was working and no longer isn’t, you look at what changed. So I ask you, what changed?
"

Vic's response was ? Hit the LINK to find out.

Comment woodbuck27:

a) Does Vic's response make sense to you and why do you agree with it or disagree with it?

b) Does his response in any way confuse you? Why if so does his response confuse you?

PACKERS !

Oscar
12-07-2013, 05:08 AM
My first thought was that Vic was simply being a smart ass. But, I think Rodgers abilities alone kinda masked our defense's inabilities. Did that make sense?? After a team would score on a blown coverage by our D I always felt like it would be OK... Rodgers will get it back.

bobblehead
12-07-2013, 05:39 AM
Oscar, you didn't read far enough, but the quote Woody put up about desire is covered near the bottom.

What changed imo is simple. We read about the packers taking the contact a bit more seriously this camp. Then the season started and MM is so afraid of injury that the only contact they really get is gameday. I think you get tentative when you don't hit all week then try to do it 100%. As vic says, a lot of it is desire. You play like you practice. MM is on record in his methods if you read between the lines and put the puzzle together. He likes to practice in climate controlled hudson center. He likes his guys fresh. IMO the end result is that the team isn't hardened for contact like you need to be.