PDA

View Full Version : Best And Worst Picks NFC.

chain_gang
04-23-2007, 01:53 PM
From FoxSports.com

Has teams Best Pick, Best Value Pick, and Worst Pick

http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/6688022

Green Bay Packers

Best overall pick: WR Sterling Sharpe, Round 1, Pick 7, 1988

Remember that the stars of the Packers' 10-year run as contenders were either acquired by trade (Brett Favre, Ahman Green), through free agency (Reggie White), or otherwise spent two or three years in the limelight before moving on or fading away (Sharpe, Robert Brooks, Edgar Bennett, Dorsey Levens). Sharpe was the best of those players, putting together four Hall of Fame-caliber seasons before succumbing to injury. You could make a case for Darren Sharper as well.

Best value pick: G Marco Rivera, Round 6, Pick 208, 1996

Rivera gets the nod over Mark Brunell and Matt Hasselbeck because the Packers actually extracted the value of picking him, while they got nothing out of Brunell or Hasselbeck. Donald Driver, Chad Clifton, Adam Timmerman and Mark Tauscher are also seventh round picks gone right.

Worst pick: DL Bruce Clark, Round 1, Pick 4, 1980

Clark was another one of those zany first round picks who preferred the CFL to the NFL. I don't get it — was the lure of poutine and Tim Horton's that strong? He never played a down for the Packers. Sure, Tony Mandarich was a bust, but at least he showed up. Clark also played in the WLAF, which is awesome for many obvious reasons.

I figured it would be Mandarich hands down, but from reading this it seems it was Clark. I've never really heard of him. Anyone remember the Bruce Clark draft pick? Why didn't he play for the Pack?

Freak Out
04-23-2007, 02:00 PM
From FoxSports.com

Has teams Best Pick, Best Value Pick, and Worst Pick

http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/6688022

Green Bay Packers

Best overall pick: WR Sterling Sharpe, Round 1, Pick 7, 1988

You could make a case for Darren Sharper as well.