PDA

View Full Version : Notebook: Blackmon will get his shot

packers11
05-20-2007, 11:31 AM
Notebook: Blackmon will get his shot

By Tom Pelissero
tpelisse@greenbaypressgazette.com

Charles Woodson's absence during organized team activities will give cornerback Will Blackmon a long-awaited chance for extended action with the starting defense.

"That's very important, because I get to run with the (No.) 1s," said Blackmon, the Green Bay Packers' fourth-round pick out of Boston College in 2006. "Last year, I missed OTAs and I missed training camp, so when I started playing the season, I didn't have any kind of reps."

It was this time a year ago that Blackmon broke a bone in a foot during minicamp. He was sidelined nearly five months before making his debut in Week 7, then landed on injured reserve with a rib injury after playing only four games.

The Packers' only notable free agent signing this offseason was Frank Walker, who was projected widely as the team's No. 3 cornerback. But Blackmon has gotten significant time with the first-team nickel defense during this minicamp, and, with Woodson and Al Harris sitting out Saturday afternoon, he filled in at cornerback along with Patrick Dendy.

Woodson plans to work out in Houston rather than returning when OTAs begin at the end of the month, so Blackmon, Dendy and Walker should get plenty of work against the team's top receivers.

"(Blackmon)'s been in the whole offseason, hasn't missed a day on anything," secondary coach Kurt Schottenheimer said. "No question, you can see it. He just has to keep working on technique. It's a tough job out there. He just has to keep working every day, and he's a great worker."

Blackmon said he is recovered from both injuries but doesn't feel like himself. Once he does, Blackmon also could make an impact in the return game, though he said his primary focus is contributing on defense.