PDA

View Full Version : Starting a business

Brando19
06-02-2007, 12:57 PM
Let's say you were to start your own business. Just a side business in which you buy retail products and resale them to make a profit. What would you guys use as your product? I've thought about tires. Everyone needs them and you could buy tires and resale them to make a little cash on the side.

Bretsky
06-02-2007, 03:07 PM
Can I be a mall Passions consultant ? I know lots of gals; I could get them to set up parties for me and then show up with the goodies :lol:

Fosco33
06-02-2007, 03:44 PM
I studied entrepreneurship in college. Lots of people have side businesses like these and the tax advantages are tremendous. If you're really interested, we could use a thread for SB advice...

Scott Campbell
06-02-2007, 03:56 PM
I studied entrepreneurship in college.

How was that? Would you recommend it to others?

Fosco33
06-02-2007, 04:01 PM

It was awesome. Definitely recommended for general study. I've considered going back to UW's WAVE program for graduate study - but as my undergrad prof suggested, if you really want to start a business - do it. Waiting costs time....

On a side note (and a little bragging), I was selected to participate in a business plan competition as a senior and took first in the world. Very cool experience!

Iron Mike
06-02-2007, 04:23 PM
I'm trying to start a business where Patler gives me some kick-@$$ hostas for free and then I sell them for pure profit at the local farmer's market.

But the guy won't co-operate. Just another example of The Man trying to keep me down. :(

GBRulz
06-02-2007, 04:44 PM