PDA

View Full Version : Best Computer set up for VHS to DVD

mraynrand
07-09-2007, 03:25 PM
OK, video gurus, what should I get to convert my library of Packer VHS tapes (from 1994-present) to DVD/blueray, etc. What's the best platform (PC/mac) and what is the best editing software? I do a lot of scientific imaging with stuff like ImageJ, quicktime, etc. and so forth, but I'm a newbie as far as video editing/conversion. What do you guys suggest. I'd like to stay with my Windows using the following:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA5200CSBOX
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
Canopus ADVC110 IEEE 1394 Interface Advanced Digital Video Converter - Retail
and about 4-8GB of RAM (recommendations on RAM for this set-up?)
Also, recommendations for video card, LCD, tower, power supplies, fans, etc. I'll take any advice I can get...

My experience is that Macs are better for digital video editing, but didn't want to limit my options. Suggestions???

The offshoot of all this is that a bunch of games will be available to order at cost....

the_idle_threat
07-09-2007, 03:37 PM
I hope you get the help you seek on this. I might be interested to purchase copies if they become available. :whist:

GBRulz
07-09-2007, 05:33 PM
I have transferred hundreds of VHS tapes to DVD and experimenting with different software all along the way. My best advice for newbies (PC) is the Pinnacle Dazzle Suite. The only downfall to this set up is that you really have to have a fast computer or you will find that it bogs down easily.