PDA

View Full Version : 1ST STRING JUSTIN HARRELL ?

Bretsky
07-28-2007, 02:30 PM
I know I'm nitpicking here; but with the infinite news on the free agent front this one might be worth a thread. Somebody else bought this up as not being cool as well so I thought I'd give my take as well as get other views.

In the past I've been a varsity coach as well as a defensive coach for a High School JV Team. From a coaches normal mentality, players have to work their arse off to earn their jobs, and earn their starting positions.

Justin Harrell has did no physical activities for the Green Bay Packers as of yet.

So does anybody else find it highly odd that he is listed as the 1st String DT before the coaching staff has ever seen him perform.

Why do you think MM would choose to list Harrell as the starter before seeing him perform ? I'm not sure why; I cartainly do not agree with it, but I'll offer up some alternatives to try to describe this.

1. To Motivate Harrell- Maybe GB is sending a clear message to Harrell on how high on them they are and that they expect him to perform at a high level immediately

MY TAKE: From all accounts it appears Harrell has a great attitude. His coaches have commented that he gives it his all on and off the field and he's a leader. I'm not sure this would be any more of a motivator than his being a first round draft pick.

2. Message to Corey Williams- Maybe I'm way off base here, but how happy is TT with Williams performance ? Maybe he is not motivated enough ? He'll be a free agent next year so fiscally and ego wise Williams certainly can not be happy about being listed as 2nd string. I've popped the theory out that the Harrell selection may be about kissing goodbye to Williams; I hope that is not the case. But I find it hard to believe that GB's depth chart lists a rookie as the starter over last year's starter when the rookie has never played