PDA

View Full Version : trick play or poor sportsmanship?

Little Whiskey
07-31-2007, 09:16 AM
http://www.620wtmj.com/shows/charliesykes

check out this peewee football clip. qb runs to the sidlines yelling to his coach that he has the wrong ball once he gets near the sidelines he runs to the endzone and the refs score it as a touchdown.

is this just another hiddenball trick or poor sportsmanship on the coach?

swede
07-31-2007, 10:24 AM
As a youth football coach, I would never ever choose to employ such a shoddy trick. I'd rather be able to yell across the field to the other coach, "Here comes our sweep. We're gonna pull our left guard, seal your backside pursuit, and knock out your lb and safety with our flanker and end. Good luck!"

On the other hand, I defend the other coach's right to play within the legal scope of the rules. By facing a legal yet underhanded trick play my boys will learn to be game aware at all times.

I hear that people are getting faint with their concern for the lessons taught children by employing such a mean abuse of the rules in a game.

The American way is to defend the other guy's right to be a jerk while teaching your children to be better than that.

Zool
07-31-2007, 10:25 AM
This is a clear case of douchebaggery on the coach. Clearly a 12 year old should be able to diagnose a trick play on the fly like that. :roll:

BallHawk
07-31-2007, 10:55 AM
Cheap. And the thing is, if the defense tackled the kid, the coach would shout at the kid for tackling his player.

Loser.

PackerBlues
07-31-2007, 11:20 AM
Did the coach admit to drawing up the play, or admit that he called the play? If he did, then yes, that is lame as all hell.

On the other hand, didnt you ever try a trick play when you were a kid playing in a team sport? Maybe him and his teamates came up with that play on their own, and were just having fun.

Dunno.

Zool
07-31-2007, 11:33 AM
Maybe you watched without sound. You can clearly hear the coach telling him to go.