PDA

View Full Version : Signs of improvement?

VanPackFan
09-10-2007, 01:32 PM
Hey guys... new to the forum... just hanging out on the Left Coast.
One thing I was thinking about as I watched yesterday's game and looked at the post-game stats was that Philly's tight ends didn't kill our defence. I am far from an expert, and somebody can slap me upside the head if I'm wrong here, but is this a strong indication that Brady Pop is cleaning up his coverage deficiencies?
If I understand your strange American brand of football correctly, the SLB is primarily responsible for covering the TE (with help from the safety). L.J. Smith is supposed to be one of the league's better TEs and he caught just two balls.
If Pop is now merely adequate in coverage, that's an improvement. He's already stout in run defence and he provides an aggressive bulldog mentality. If he is overall an average to slightly above average linebacker, how does the Packer linebacker core compare to others around the league?

I'd hazard a guess at 5-10?

MJZiggy
09-10-2007, 01:35 PM
Welcome to the forum VanPackFan. Nice first thread. I think when talking about the linebacking corps, you have to decide whether you're talking about the group as a whole or just the starters. I think you're right about Pop and that this group can play with anyone in the leage (I think top 5) but if you're looking at the backups as well, it gets a little trickier...

MadtownPacker
09-10-2007, 01:36 PM
Welcome to the forum Van. I aint the guy to answer your question but I'd say the starters as a whole are top 5.

VanPackFan
09-10-2007, 01:38 PM
I think for the purposes of my question I'm focused on just the top three (top four for 3-4 D).