PDA

View Full Version : Tipping

Harlan Huckleby
10-12-2007, 10:14 PM
Let's ban tipping in Wisconsin
By Bill Bollom
Wisconsin should pass a law making it the only non-tipping state in the nation.

This past March, my wife and I were visiting Singapore, where we lived 25 years earlier. Our taxi driver was having a devil of a time getting to our hotel because of road construction. He turned off his meter. When we finally arrived, I tipped him a couple of dollars. He told me, "No, tipping is illegal in Singapore." He pointed to the sign on the dash, "PLEASE, NO TIPPING."

He asked me, "What do you do in your country?"

"I'm retired. I'm a CPA and a retired university professor."

"Did your clients and students tip you? Do you tip your doctor? The meter tells you what the trip was worth. I always do my best work. No tip is necessary to encourage me to do a better job. I'm a professional. I'm as proud of what I do as you are sir."

My wife and I really liked the no-tipping law in Singapore. And the taxi driver was right. Tipping assumes that the receiver wouldn't do his best unless he is paid extra. It smacks of a superior-subordinate relationship, and it passes on to the customer the obligation of the employer.

Also, the practice is demeaning. On some of our U.S. travel tours, guides, historians and bus drivers stand at the bottom of the bus steps, hands outstretched like a common beggar.

Finally, I'll bet everyone reading this has at one time or another been in a conundrum about tipping, like when the bellhop wrestles your bag from you, wheels it 10 feet to the front desk and wants a tip. I know it upsets my evening.

We are in a system where the employer pays a low wage and assumes tips will bring employee income up to a reasonable level.