PDA

View Full Version : What made Lombardi great??

GrnBay007
10-15-2007, 03:28 PM
I was reading a book my son brought home from school - Heroes of Football by John Madden. Of course there was a section in there on Lombardi.
From John...

Vince Lombardi was my idol. It's as pure and simple as that. When I was a young coach I studied everything he did. When I was a junior college coach I went to a football clinic in Reno, Nevada, where he was speaking. I thought then I knew everything about coaching. That day, Lombardi spoke for eight hours...about one play: the Green Bay sweep. That's when I realized that my knowledge of coaching was superficial. I learned about real depth that day, about how much knowledge goes into what can seem the simplest of things. When Lombardi took over the Packers, he went back to basics, started from the very beginning, and built from there - step by step. He was truly an incredible coach.

What do you think, or what have you read that made Lombardi such a great coach?

Joemailman
10-15-2007, 04:00 PM
A number of players have said that Lombardi was a master at knowing when a player needed a kick in the rear and when he needed a pat on the back. I think that was a lot of it. Contrast that with a guy like Tom Coughlin who has a reputation as a tough guy, but is reviled by many players for always being negative.

oregonpackfan
10-15-2007, 04:55 PM
A number of things made Lombadi great:

1. Commitment to Excellence. He expected and demanded every player and coach give 100% effort.

2. Motivating players to work for a common goal.

3. A vision for "The Big Picture" as well as giving attention to detail.

4. Inspirational leadership skills

5. Though he was demanding and hard on his players he still treated them like family members.

6. Realization that the team needed to be directly involved in the community affairs. This is a huge reason why Green Bay residents as well as Wisconsin residents so loved the Packers.

The Shadow